South africa 11 offical languages

2020-04-04 22:01

South Africa has 11 official languages, making the country having the secondlargest number of constitutionally recognised languages next to Bolivia and India. All 11 languages are mandated to share equal emphasis and importance, in usage and in development.South Africas Constitution recognises 11 official languages: Sepedi (also known as Sesotho sa Leboa), Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu. For centuries South Africas official languages were European Dutch, English, Afrikaans. south africa 11 offical languages

The languages of South Africa comprise 11 official South African languages, we're not called It was declared the official language of the Cape Colony in 1822. On the formation of the Union of South Africa in 1910, English was made the official language together with Dutch, which was replaced by Afrikaans in 1925.

South africa 11 offical languages free

How can the answer be improved?

Another of South Africas minority languages, it is spoken by 2. 4 of South Africans, or 1 209 388 people. It is concentrated in the province of Limpopo, where 73. 8 of Venda speakers live, or 16. 7 of the provincial population. Another 22. 5 of Venda speakers live

South Africa TravelSouth Africa's Official Languages. Zulu. To about 22. 7 of South Africans, Zulu is considered to be their home language and 50 of the South Africa s inhabitants understand the language. Zulu falls under the Nguni group and is one of the Bantu languages.

Engen is going all out to welcome visitors to South Africa with its African Welcome campaign aimed at urging their staff and customers alike to do the same. And what better way to welcome visitors to South Africa and to show off South Africa's diverse cultural heritage, than to welcome them in all of our 11 official languages?

South Africa's 11 Official Languages. South Africa sits at the southernmost tip of the African continent. It is bordered by the Indian and Atlantic oceans as well as by the countries Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Swaziland. South Africa, which is

Afrikaans is the third most common language in South Africa. It is spoken by 13. 5 of the population, or 6 855 082 people mainly coloured and white South Africans. The language has its roots in 17th century Dutch, with influences from English, Malay, German, Portuguese, French, and some African languages.

In South Africa eleven languages of South Africa are recognised as official languages. The 11 official languages are: English, Afrikaans, IsiZulu, isiXhosa, isiNdebele, siSwati, Sepedi or Sesotho sa Leboa, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Sesotho and Setswana. South African English is also different to the English that is used in England, the USA or Australia.

Rating: 4.48 / Views: 756

Constitutional Court in the 11 official languages of South Africa. Photo via Flickr user Erich Ludwig.

2020 (c)
| Sitemap